Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Tuesday Afternoon

2 Comments

Big laughing face
Image by iandexter via Flickr

One of the things I had on my to-do list when I moved to Oregon was to make someone (else) smile every day.  The bonus is that, when you make someone else smile, you end up smiling too.  Smiling actually releases endorphins, which are Nature’s way of saying, get high on me!  Smiling uses fewer muscles, is much more pleasant to look at and has been known to lead (Spoiler Alert!!) to laughter.  A good hearty laugh has been known to cause a BP drop of up to 40 points.  Which leads me to ask, does that mean that, if you have low BP you should avoid laughing, or even smiling?  It’s a conundrum.  Like, if you’re manic-depressive (old school name for bipolar) and you have a manicure, are you only depressive from then on?  I wonder about these things.

Thought for the Day:  Live Every day as though it’s your last…one of them will be.  Make the most of it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Afternoon

  1. No, you won’t just be depressive, you’ll be “ure” self.

    Like

Leave a Reply

