Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

While I’m thinking About It

Leave a comment

President Barack Obama & First Lady Michelle Obama
Image by cliff1066™ via Flickr

Hello, again. I’ve been off investigating life for a while. This morning I turned on the TV in time to hit President Obama’s speech and the signing of the Vets’ Bill, as he had promised, paying a year in advance, and all done using available money. It’s so evocative of the scene in the film “Dave”, with Kevin Kline and Sigourney Weaver, where the villain (the masterful Frank Langella) tells Dave that if he can find the money for the day care center he can have it, and Dave brings in his brother-in-law, the accountant, who helps him pull it off. And then there are the undeniable sparks between the POTUS and the FLOTUS, who also seem (gasp) to like and respect each other, and who complement each other so well. First Families who are also demonstrably human beings are so much easier to get behind. And were it to come right down to it, I believe, as did Ving Rhames’ character of Dave, that yes, I would take a b****t for Mr. Obama. (Of course, I rather visualize myself meeting him and Mrs. Obama at some glitzy affair, which I’ve attended dressed to the nines!)

Thought for the Day: It is not the thing that occurs that upsets you; it is the way you choose to respond.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

Leave a Reply

