Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

To Paraphrase Blanche

3 Comments

Cropped screenshot of Vivien Leigh from the tr...
Image via Wikipedia

I am constantly heartened by the unexpected kindness of strangers, and here is the perfect example. I had gone to my local Fred Meyer and done a week’s food shopping, and I’d completely lost track of the number of items in my cart. I moved a few nonessentials to the end of the belt and asked the cashier to subtotal for me at that point. So… I thanked him and told him I’d changed my mind on the other items (none of which I couldn’t live without). I paid up and was loading my bags into my grocery cart when I noticed the cashier had put my extras in a bag, and I knew I hadn’t paid for them. I got his attention and began to explain, but he interrupted to say that the man behind me had paid for them, around $18 in all.

I turned around to face a perfect stranger, who when I attempted to thank him, waved me off and looked fixedly over my shoulder. So I accepted the gift and was very grateful and totally awed. Talk about Random Acts of Kindness, and, yes, Perfect strangers. I am so blessed.

I’m happy to share this story with you, but whether or not this kind stranger ever sees my post, I’m putting a message out into the Universe, to say thank you to a man who didn’t need a seasonal reason for a Completely Disinterested And Totally Random Act Of Kindness (or as I like to say, “CDATRAOK You’re OK.”)

Thought for the Day: Refrain from putting out there energy you really wouldn’t like to get back. That boomerang effect can be killer.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

3 thoughts on “To Paraphrase Blanche

  1. I love Random Acts of Kindness. They make other people’s day!

    Like

  2. I just love Random Acts of Kindness. They make other people’s day!

    Like

  3. What a wonderful post for the Holidays. Random acts of kindness are so refreshing in the sometimes jaded world in which we live. Have you ever seen those vendors who sell bouquets of flowers during rush hour? I was driving home from work late one afternoon. It was in the middle of winter and had been a tiring and frustrating day. I was stopped at a traffic light when one of those vendors started walking toward my car. I averted his eyes, but he tapped on my window. He handed me a lovely bouquet of flowers which he said came from a gentleman several cars in front of me. I peered out but did not recognize the car. I happily took the flowers as a gentle reminder that there are genuinely good people out there. Then I called my husband to explain why I would be walking in the house with flowers from an absolute stranger!

    Like

Leave a Reply

