Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Grace Upon Grace

5 Comments

Small tomatoes in Korea
Image via Wikipedia

In accordance with my plan to live in the now, I’m always on the watch for unexpected little moments of beauty. You’d be surprised to know how many times my patience and vigilance have been rewarded. Today there was one such moment.

I needed to go to the store for kitty litter, no errand more prosaic. But when I glanced at the clock I realized I’d not had lunch and I know “they” say you shouldn’t go hungry. A little bite, along with some orange juice, should do the trick. I pulled a roast chicken out of the fridge and detached a wing. I popped that in the microwave, meanwhile quartering two cherry tomatoes. Just enough to take the edge off, but not enough to spoil a small, late lunch. The microwave dinged, I removed the saucer, turned to the counter behind me to set it down, added the tomatoes and Suddenly, the sun burst through the gray clouds and drenched my tiny meal in warm afternoon light. The reds of the plate and the tomatoes flamed, and the wing of the fowl glistened golden in its juices. I ate my snack standing at the kitchen counter, with the flooding sunshine enhancing and blessing my food, and it was beautifully delicious. Five minutes sooner, or later, and my little miracle would have occurred unnoticed. What a lovely gift. It made my day.

Thought for the Day:   When you start your day anticipating miracles and blessings, the Universe provides.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

5 thoughts on “Grace Upon Grace

  1. What a beautiful vignette and wonderfully positive thoughts.

    Like

  2. Oh, I like this one. Five minutes can make all the difference.

    Like

  3. You are a fine writer. I’ve read several of your posts and I find them interesting. Keep it up!

    Like

  4. Lita, thank you for your kind comment. I’m always looking for those magic moments. A friend of mine, who has adopted my “Yellow VW Beetle” memory aid, to remind him that God/the Universe loves him, called me recently to say that he had seen fifteen (15) YVWBs in one day. Fantastic!

    Like

  5. What a beautiful and special moment you shared with us all. It reminds me that I need to stop and appreciate those special and unique moments that happen in life. So often we are in a big hurry and miss out on those precious moments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

