Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Just Keepin’ It Real!

4 Comments

Sometimes as the April 1st requalification date rolls around for the “Foot in Mouth Club, I become a little anxious, lest this be the year I don’t make the grade.  Fortunately, this year I know I’m safe, and I’ll tell you how that came about.

It happened, prosaically enough, at my local Safeway.  I was standing in line for the pharmacy, there to pick up a prescription.  There was a sign on a stand that asked us to keep the aisle clear and give privacy to people as they spoke to the pharmacist, so we were standing at the head of the aisle across from the counter.  As I usually do in these situations, I began looking around, reading labels, people watching, glancing at my watch, all those little things people who don’t text or tweet do to pass the time.

In one of my visual sweeps, I noticed two men – little people as they prefer to be known.  They had a list and they were consulting it.  Just then a woman at the pharmacy counter looked over and waved and called out, “Bob!”.  One of the two men turned around and waved back and called out her name.  He then excused himself to his friend, saying he worked with the woman and was just going to say a quick hello.  He turned and walked over to speak to her, and just then my eye caught the eye of the friend, and I smiled and said, “Small world.”  Thank goodness he took the remark at face value, and thank goodness they called me up to the counter just then.  I could feel my face getting red.  Of all the things I could have said.  Oh, well, as I said, my membership in “Foot in Mouth” is safe for another year.

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

4 thoughts on “Just Keepin’ It Real!

  1. So if you make more than one faux pas, do you simply switch feet?

    Like

  2. Very witty post, Melody! We have all done something similar at one time or another. We are just human, afterall. I know you to be a sweet, kind and caring person, so don’t beat yourself up over a seeming faux pas.

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness… this made me smile and cringe and more than anything identify! Why is it, at the most inopportune moment, I come out with the worst gaffe imaginable? I find myself standing there, and wanting to say,”excuse me, that wasn’t really me, it was this banshee that now and again takes temprary posession of my vocal chords”
    My worse one of late was coming across a lady I hadn’t seen in a while, telling her she looked great and asking when her baby was due. Only to be told, she wasn’t pregnant and was I saying she looked fat?
    the ground never does open up when you want it to does it?
    Anyway, am claiming international membership of your foot in mouth club!

    Thank you for making me smile.

    Like

  4. I know just what you mean. It’s like hearing someone saying something and looking around and everybody’s looking at you. I pulled the “when is your baby due” routine with a lady I was just getting ready to spend about three hours with. That was fun!

    Maybe you could open a branch in your area. I’d never thought of going international. Anyway, glad it’s not just me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

