Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Trip To The Library

10 Comments

After mentioning in a post that I was making a trip to the library, a couple of people wrote to say how much they loved going to the library. One lucky lady said hers was right down the street, which made me think of a time when I was young that we lived right down the street from our library. We weren’t there very long, but I remember a heavenly summer where I read from dawn to dusk, every day, every minute I could spare. At least that’s the way I recall that summer. The library had printed up sheets of “bookworms”, each with a space for 20 stickers, one sticker for each book we read that summer. I think some of the kids were doing it as an assignment, but I was doing it for the sheer pleasure. The equivalent for me of giving a heroin addict all he can use and rewarding him for shooting up! And I got extra credit in school! I forget how many bookworms I filled up that summer, but it was a lot.

For me that will always be the “summer of the library”. First I read all the horse books, then I went through all the scifi and then I started on the mysteries. Granted it was a smallish library, but I soon graduated to the big time – the main library downtown. This one was a bus ride away, but I was a very mature and responsible 11 year old, so I was permitted to make the trip on my own. The regular driver and I got to be good friends, and he kept an eye on me. There was the added bonus, when taking this trip, of being able to visit my mom at her office. I’d stick my head in the door, and if she was busy, I’d duck out and go home. If she had a few minutes, I’d go in and visit and look around. It never crossed my mind that I, like my mother, would spend my working life in an office. I was going to be a doctor, or a detective, or a stewardess on a big plane. Funny, isn’t it, how very differently your life can turn out from what you’re expecting?

Now I’m here in Oregon, and I can take advantage of the Central Library in downtown Portland. The picture above is of the grand staircase, which was restored, along with the rest of this beautiful building, in 1993. It was designed by A. E. Doyle and built in 1913. The picture to the right was taken after the building was brought back to its former glory. If that wasn’t enough, an eco-roof was recently installed and had already helped to reduce heating and cooling costs. Could you call it a building with beauty and brains? In any event, should you find yourself in our fair city, you should pay this lovely library a visit. You’ll be glad you did.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

10 thoughts on “A Trip To The Library

  1. What a awe inspiring place to find those friends we all have that we meet between the pages of books.

    Like

  2. What a lovely library! Nice place to sneak off to on those rainy days.!

    Like

  3. What a delightful post with awesome library shots!

    You have reminded me of when my neighbor and I hauled a wagon to the library and filled it up with books that we read every week. We had a continual contest.

    Thanks for reminding me of that red wagon full of books and a childhood friend. 😀

    And weren’t those horse books special!

    Cheers, JJ/Nancy

    Like

  4. This is a lovely post and great photographs. As a little girl, I went with my mother to our village library every week. before children were allowed in, the very strict librarian (thin Dr Trunchbull from Matilda..) used to inspect our hands to make sure they were clean!
    Nowadays, I live in a rural village with just 60 houses scattered around and we have a mobile library visit the first Tuesday of the month – it parks next to the village post box on the village green.
    I am always there and enjoy climbing aboard and choosing from the small selection!

    Like

    • Sometimes I forget how very lucky I am to have access to so many books. It makes me feel happy and calm to be at the library and surrounded by them all.

      Like

  5. Glad to to see your and your reader’s love of libraries and books.

    Although, we learn so much from the web but unfortunately, our online life is driving us away from the hidden treasure present in these libraries.

    Like

  6. Oh! I forgot to mention that being an amateur photographer, I am impressed by the second picture as well.

    Really nice shot.

    Best Wishes!

    Like

  7. A delayeddd thanks for the link. (A delay of almost one year and 8 months).

    I loved the photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

