Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Sunday Brunch

9 Comments

It’s 10 AM Sunday morning and it’s so quiet. The sky is gray and the rain has been falling quietly but steadily for many hours. There must be water standing in the streets, because when the cars go by they make a sort of slooshing sound. Max and Murphy sleep the sleep of the feline, one on the couch, one in a chair. Occasionally one of them will moan or sigh.

The plan for today is brunch with two friends at a little place on Hawthorne, where they make the most delicious crêpes. French cuisine is far and away my most favorite. We usually have a savory crêpe each, and then split a sweet, although with three of us I’m not sure how that will work. Maybe we’ll ask them to supersize it (The French are really into that sort of thing, you know! Just ask any waiter for a doggy bag. No, wait, don’t! I was only kidding!)

When I mentioned to my son where we were going, he told me to say hello for him to two of his friends who work there. I’ve never known a person who can learn a city so quickly and thoroughly as he does. He has ‘shown me the town’ in Berkeley, San Francisco, LA, Paris and Amsterdam, and we discovered the Southern Coast of Spain together. Not only does he know the different areas, he knows what types of people live there, some history of the places, and the amenities they offer. Altogether these traits, plus his gift for languages, make him a very handy traveling companion. Time to plan another road trip!

Back to the present day, I’d better finish getting ready. My tummy already is. Au revoirs, mes amis!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

9 thoughts on “Sunday Brunch

  1. Yummy! I love crepes – very hard to get in the UK. However, we are lucky to be able to get to Paris very easily on the Eurostar and go over several times a year as its my favourite place in the world. I always have a crepe from the stall next the big carousel under the Eiffel Tower – one of our rituals – just feels so ‘Parisienne’!

    I do make them at home but haven’t yet convinced the husband I need one of those crepe griddles plates!

    I hope you enjoyed your brunch and perhaps had a full sweet one to yourself.

    Like

  2. Once you get the hang of making crepes they are so easy. Cool the bottom of the pan in-between the crepes, so you do not burn them. You sound as if you had a very good time. Bon Appetit.

    Like

  3. Mmm…I’m reading this belatedly, but it’s now the following Sunday, and those images above are just what my lazy morning could use right now…well, actually it’s afternoon, if that’s any indication how lazy indeed I’m being today. I could actually go for a good ol’ US pancake as well–Ladygoodwood mentioned crepes being difficult to find in the UK; it’s even harder for a proper pancake (which are actually more like crepes here), but I have located the American stores that sell American pancake mix, thank goodness. I’m all for embracing new cultures, but now and then I just need those fixes of Americana!

    Like

  4. Those photos look so gooooood!!! I wish I could make them!

    Like

  5. @Antonia Blanca If you want to see some amazing food, click on @Theresa111 (Comment #2) and follow it to her blog. Sometimes the food looks so good I almost lick the screen!

    Like

  6. I love crepes and more so with fresh fruits. I would love to learn how to make it.

    Like

  7. @AVCr8teur See my comment above to Antonia. @Theresa111 is a brilliant pastry chef. She could probably tell you exactly how to do it. My brunch that day was truly delicious.

    Like

  8. Alright. My craving for crepes and waffles just came back in full force! 🙂 I am drooling while typing now! *Drools*

    Like

Leave a Reply

