Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

The Animal Rescue Site

4 Comments

Thank you for taking the time to read this brief appeal to your better nature. It is totally free and takes a moment only of your time.

I ran across The Animal Rescue Site, several years ago, where I found that I could donate .6 cans of pet food per day, simply by visiting the site and clicking a button. At the rate of one click per day, that amounts to 219 cans of food a year. Since I always click twice, once in memory of my mom, the annual total grows to 438 cans, which is more than my two cats eat in a year.

There is also a tab on this page, headed “Rainforest”.  Each click there helps protect 11.4 square feet of rainforest habitat for wildlife. Since, again, I click twice each day, this amounts to 8,322 square feet in a year’s time, or almost exactly one-fifth of an acre.

Taken on their own .6 and 11.4 seem painfully small portions, perhaps not worth your time, but 438 cans and a fifth of an acre are much more impressive. Add in four more people, clicking twice on each site each day, and in a year that grows to 2,190 cans of food and an acre of rainforest. By standing together, pooling our efforts, we can make a change. We can make a difference by doing our small part, and by adding it to the small changes  others are making. I’ll probably never see my face added to Mount Rushmore, or stand in the spotlight to accept an award, but I’m perfectly happy to make a small effort every day to help those who need our protection and our friendship.

I have included separate links to each location which I hope you will bookmark and visit faithfully. You have my thanks and appreciation in advance, and I thank you for those who cannot speak for themselves.

The Animal Rescue Site
The Rainforest Site

** Note ** Please grab these buttons for your own web site, by clicking the widget and getting the code. Thanks.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

4 thoughts on “The Animal Rescue Site

  1. I love that we share such a love of the animals and care so much about helping as we are able. this takes only a few seconds and is so very worthwhile. Cool! 😀

    Like

  2. We click there every day. No one can do everything, but everyone can do something! If we all click it will add up to a lot!

    Like

  3. @Theresa111 and @Daisy the Curly Cat. You are both so right. This is such a simple thing to do for our animal friends, it takes only moments to do and the cumulative effect can be pretty impressive. Daisy, you are such a sweet girl. Give my love to Harley. 🙂

    Like

  4. Melody, bravo for pointing out the logistics of watching these number grow. I had the rainforest site button on my blog but at some point took it off when my page was slow in loading.

    Thanks to you, I will put it back on my page!

    Like

Leave a Reply

