Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

From Today’s MSNBC.MSN.COM

2 Comments

“BP Was Warned Of Gas Danger, Contractor Says. He incriminates engineers, including one who refuses to testify at presidential inquiry.”

Four months ago, who would have thought that we would still be as far away from the truth as we are. The contractor referenced above, Jesse Gagliano, who works for Halliburton, testified that two days prior to the April 20th explosion, he warned BP in an email that they were risking an explosion if they proceeded with fewer than seven stabilizers, a warning which obviously BP chose to ignore. I could go on in this vein for days and hardly repeat myself. The documentation of this terrible tragedy could probably fill warehouses, but out of all of this whirlwind of facts and figures, accusation and counter accusation, finger pointing and avoidance of responsibility, one thing stands out clearly.

The people, the wildlife, the economy and the environment of the Gulf Coastal region will never be the same. For the many also affected by Hurricane Katrina, just five short years ago, it must seem as if they are living under a curse, some spell contrived by an evil wizard. Two catastrophic events in such a short time might appear to be the work of a wicked genie. But mundanely enough, aside from an act of Nature like this huge storm, most of our current woes could have been avoided by the use of better planning, better management, strict attention to safety procedures and constant monitoring of equipment by BP.

With total assets of $248,620,000,000, BP has, in the last three years, spent Zero Dollars on research into disaster cleanup. From day one they have lied about the massive amounts of oil fouling the waters of the Gulf and spreading outward. Now they are fighting as hard as they can to deny the claims of those whose entire lives have been destroyed by the greed of BP and those who have conspired with them against the American people.

We the people must keep these facts front and center on the world stage, and we must be vigilant in helping to bring those responsible to justice. We must do this for our brothers and sisters still suffering at the hands of corporate greed, lies and injustice. This is not simply about money, it’s about a whole way of life, gone forever. It’s about families who lived on or near the water and led peaceful, productive lives as generations before them had. It is for them, and for their children, that we must continue the battle.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

2 thoughts on “From Today’s MSNBC.MSN.COM

  1. Melody,

    Once again, a perfect post. I’m impressed by the way you’ve been keeping up with this. I had MSNBC on all day, and now as well. It’s so well written, your pace, and your facts aren’t overbearing. Well, if you don’t know I’m a big fan of yours already, I’ll say it again: Great writing!

    Like

  2. I get it, but I don’t believe Halliburton because they are up to their necks in this, too. I know when I am right. More than these two companies the former administration has something to do with it, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

