Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

The Grace Of A Good Marriage

6 Comments

The Obamas

Looking in from the outside, one’s view is often distorted, by distance, or perspective, by one’s own personal filter, through which all information must pass, and so it can never provide a perfect image. Nevertheless, even seen through the fishbowl perspective the media provides, with their relentless coverage of every possible moment, the marriage of the Obamas would seem to be, as the song is so famously misquoted as saying, “solid as Barack”! The pictures I have chosen speak to a union based on love, respect and trust.

The President and his First Lady make a beautiful couple. Their children are darling girls, and the President’s mother-in-law is a welcome addition to the White House and its First Family. Even Beau, the First Dog, is friendly and well-behaved. The President’s brother-in-law, Craig Robinson, is a famous basketball coach with Oregon State (gosh I didn’t realize that and I live here; I am so not a jock). Go Oregon State!

Both the Obamas are intelligent, well-educated, charming, charismatic characters. Witness the way the international community has fallen for the pair of them. Even types who you’d think would be prickly and resistant, seem to have no defenses against this fascinating, powerful and handsome couple, with their elegant carriage and beautiful smiles.

Looks of Love
Looks of Love

But it is the smiles they reserve for one another which I think tell the tale. It’s the looks and the touches, the courteous and unconsciously protective air he has with her.  It’s the way she looks at him. You just know that, were danger suddenly to arise, they would meet it back-to-back, each one fighting to protect the other.

Even if this is the veriest fantasy on my part, still I think I’m more right on than not, and it makes me feel more secure. Our President is a brave, strong, man of high moral fiber, who loves and protects his family. Just so I feel that he is doing his best to love and protect his country. I am simply glad that he is so fortunate in his choice of a life mate. May they live long and prosper, and may we all be the better for having them as our representatives to the world. They exemplify all that is the best America can be.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “The Grace Of A Good Marriage

  1. I love the Obamas! They are perfectly matched. Hard-working, intelligent and caring and romantic, too.

    Like

  2. I agree with you 100%. I remember when I had that in my marriage(s). My current husband thinks we can go back to that, 14 years last week. So much of marriage depends on knowing that the other has your back, no matter what. I think that’s true of good friendships; anyone threatens my people, or says something disrespectful, I kid you not, they take one look at me and RUN. I have no idea what I was going to do, but I think their imaginations were enough. I listed that as my superpower, along with ‘I Kill with conversation.” Perhaps they are linked, somehow. (The latter was said about me. The former, I’ve witnessed many times.)
    Speaking of which, I seem to see Theresa111 around the neighborhood.
    Thank you for the wonderful post. This should be shared if you don’t mind. Sweet tides and regards, Linda

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Grace Of A Good Marriage (via Pacificmelody’s Blog) « Scribadiva's Blog

  4. Your writing is so thoughtful, Melody. The Obamas remind me so very much of the Kennedys. As you say they are handsome and articulate couple. My comparison only bothers me of course because I would so hate for any tragedy to befall President Obama as happened to President Kennedy.

    Like

  5. This is a lovely post. No matter how polished your media performance is, no-one can keep it up 100% if it is an act. If I compare these pictures of the Obamas with for example the one of the Clintons, the contrasts are remarkable. The Clintons always looked staged – the Obamas always look genuinely comfortable.
    When the Obamas came to the UK, the First lady breached Royal protocol by placing her hand on the Queen’s back to guide her. The establishment held its breath, but Mrs Obama got away with it. Why? because it wasn’t a piece of staging, it was a natural, generous gesture to a woman 50 years her senior.
    I don’t think there has been this sort of class in the Whitehouse since the days of Jackie K.

    Like

  6. Ladygoodwood: I agree with you as well.
    Sweet tides, Linda P.S. That Memphis Beat episode about the little girl; that was a great one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

