Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Lady in Waiting

10 Comments

Yearning on a grand scale

Everything is still, the hush so deep

It has a presence all its own,

Which makes it much more poignant,

As I stand at my darkened window,

Observing you through your lighted one.

I see you silently rip at each other,

With angry and hurtful words

You will never forget or forgive.

Like using a sledgehammer

To destroy a fragile butterfly.

* * * * *

I remember when your hearts were glad.

My love and I held hands and smiled

And agreed that you were among the lucky,

The ones like us, who would go the distance,

Whose love would stand the test of time.

Now my love is gone, taken away in the

Space between one heartbeat and the next.

So I pinned my hopes on the two of you

And watched from my lonely vantage point

As your steps began to falter and your

Loving hearts turned colder and indifferent

Till there was nothing left but bitterness.

* * * * *

Now there is a new young couple

Moving into the house next door

There is something about them

Which causes my heart to hope again

As I prepare to live vicariously

Once more, through their loving hearts.

* * * * *

Oh, my darling, how I yearn to be

With you once more, and I know that

I will see you, and I do believe it,

Only let it be soon.

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

10 thoughts on “A Lady in Waiting

  1. So very good, so very sad. And so very good to hear from you again

    Like

    • Thank you, Frank. I just kept going back to the well till I discovered a little trickle of water (metaphorically speaking). Sometimes it’s pretty dry. I’m glad you liked it, and yes, it is sad, but sometimes life is, too. On Jan. 22nd, it will be 10 years since I lost the love of my life.

      Like

    • Dan, I would like to apologize for repeatedly calling you by the wrong name. If you will look below, you will see my friend, Frank, in a pose somewhat similar to yours. This is a pitiful excuse but it’s all I have. At any rate, I blame Frank – and you, of course, and I will do my best to refrain from doing so again. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

      Like

  2. What an incredible picture

    Like

  3. I have missed your postings. This poem is a little vignette of life. Yes, sad and later hopeful for the future. I like how your construct the poem and the smooo ooth flow from your window.

    Thank you and blessings.

    Like

    • Frank, sorry about the mix-up (in my mind, at least) between you and Dan a/k/a The Sandman. This is not the first time I have mis-named him, as you will see if you read my latest response to him. Of course, if you do, you will see that I have blamed you – and Dan, of course, since I rarely apportion blame of any kind to myself. I know that you will understand and forgive, too. What else can I say, except, “You sweet old thing, you’ve done it again.” 😛

      Like

  4. How beautiful. I like the way you watched lovers and hoped they would enjoy the same intensity of love that you experienced.

    Like

  5. Melody! This is truly touching. Loved and felt every bit of it.
    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

