Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Memories Of My Mother

8 Comments

Mother and child

Mother and child

I remembered my mother so vividly just now,

As I zipped up the front of my long green robe.

A gift from her one merry Christmas morning,

I remember how I loved the color, its depth,

The feel of the velvet soft between my hands,

Though no softer than the cheek I kissed in thanks.

I remember her weekend visits.

We would rise whenever we pleased, and

I would fix her eggs just the way she liked them.

Later we would linger over coffee and our

Favorite board game, “Upwords”. She would

Make up words, insisting that I look them up in my

Ginormous dictionary, and we would laugh when

Sometimes she was right, and she would laugh

At all my silly jokes and we were happy as

We sat in our pretty robes and sipped our cooling

Drinks and enjoyed each other’s company.

As these memories come flooding back,

I embrace them, with all of their

Pain and joy, and wrapping my arms

Around myself I am, for a moment,

Clasped in my mother’s arms once more.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

8 thoughts on “Memories Of My Mother

  1. Painting memories with the stroke of your tale is a beautiful work of art.

    Like

  2. This is so heart-warming to read. And another thing in common My mother and I would make up words; I’m working on two now. My favorite was about hygiene and medicine. “You don’t want to catch fungus of the bungus!”
    I recently read someone else writing about ancestors, so this is on my mind (I think it was T, but forgive me: Remember, drain bamage. In any case, when I can meet my online obligations, I’m going to start a new blog. I had some very smart, talents parents, and family, so I”m going to toot their horn. The stories!
    Thank you for this post. If I can sleep tonight, I will be thinking of them, as I usually do. P.S. Desiderata had such an influence on my life, another gift you sent me. I created another page on my blog just for that–Giving you credit of course! OH, and the theme to Good, Bad and Ugly! A real hoot! Hope you are doing well. Sweet tides, Linda

    Like

    • A friend and I were making up words one night. My favorite response on dictionary.com was: No results found for sleazepimple: Did you mean: salespeople? “Desiderata” is one of my all-time favorite pieces of writing. I’m so glad it speaks to you, too.

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this personal and intimate view a moment in your life. It is a very precious memory. I am glad you have chosen to share them.

    Like

  4. I am so sorry for the lose of your sweet Mom, there are no words to help you with what you are feeling than or now, Losing her just leaves such and empty place in our heart, but the memories you have of her will last forever. I know how you are feeling, Your tribute to your mother was very beautiful
    Love, Dy Eve ❤

    Like

    • Thank you, and let me say the same for you. Your loss is more recent than mine, and it does get better over time, but we will always have our memories. And I am making a lot more memories with my own son. I appreciate your kind words to a stranger. Thank you again. Love, Melody

      Like

Leave a Reply

