Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Portland Sunset

6 Comments

Riverplace overcast

Riverplace overcast

Another gray-white day ebbs quietly away.

As if by habit, the streetlights blink on,

Softening the hard edges of the coming dark.

Along the crests of the distant western hills,

The clouds ride low and sullen in the sky.

Then suddenly they part to reveal the sun,

Blazing in scarlet and orange against

The pale, dull backdrop of the fading day.

And as the sunset colors die away,

The neon glows and flows and blooms,

Like flowers along the path of Night.

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Portland Sunset

  1. Take flight… Into the imagery…
    Along the waterfront they stare at me…
    Into the valley… All languidly…
    I see them drooling their ambiguity…
    Stars come out… So they play…
    Across our eyes in every array…
    Burn the sides… Like Multnomah would gaze…
    Here we are lit as our consciousness ablaze…

    Like

  2. Beautiful! I never had anyone answer me in poetry before. It’s so gorgeous here, everywhere you look. It’s almost hard Not to describe it poetically.

    Like

  3. Portland by twilight. Sounds so lovely.

    Like

  4. I love that moment when, after a cloudy day, just before twilight, the sun suddenly bursts forth and sends tremors of light all around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

