Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Chilly With April Showers

6 Comments

Blue sky with daisies.

Blue sky with daisies.

Spring came with little fanfare this year,

Rather like a shifty salesman,

Oozing in and out of town, before people

Noticed the shoddiness of his wares.

Coaxed out of hiding, not by sunlight

But by the dictates of biology,

The blossoms opened quietly and just as

Quietly fell to the rain-sodden ground,

As we huddled inside our steel and

Concrete walls, hiding from the never-ending

Rain and gloomy-skied days of our lives.

It doesn’t feel like Spring, at least not any

Spring I’ve known before, and the absence

Of sunshine and birdsong is strangely ominous.

This day began with the illusion of light and hope

But now the color and the promise drain away.

Leaving me restless and unsatisfied

And starving for the color blue.

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Chilly With April Showers

  1. Sunshine is on the way to brighten your West Coast days! Love the daisies and the poem. 😀

    Like

  2. I really hope you’re right. Even my lovely new Rosemary plant is drooping.

    Like

  3. Your verse does a good job of describing the spring in New York. The skies in Colorado have been clear blue but very windy. I love the picture of the blue skies and daisies. The trees are just beginning to spring their green leaves out and the Crocus are spreading their colors across the brown wintered earth. I hope your spring finally arrives in full glory.

    Like

  4. Unfortunately, Frank, I’m describing the Portland, Oregon area. Spring is more than just tardy here this year.

    Like

  5. Interesting.. I had no clue Portland was having a late spring. I have heard from relatives and friends how bad it has been back East. Thanks for the correction.. I still hope spring finally comes to you.

    Like

    • Frank, I was a good soldier through the rainy Autumn and the cold, rainy Winter, but this @#$%^&*_)(*&^%#$%^ cold, rainy, GRAY Spring is just about the last straw. I am, however, handling the situation with my usual aplomb.

      Like

Leave a Reply

