Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

World Unexplored

8 Comments

Crimson velvet sin.

Do you see what I see? Look down, look down!
A whole drowned world at your feet.
Green become emerald, lush and shining,
Red turned to crimson velvet sin,
Everyday lights translated by rain,
And look at the pavement, a shiny black mirror,
Masking who knows what beneath.

Yet, you’re here beside me, with rain on your
Lashes, a light in your eyes,
And a new excitement grips me, before which
All my other dreams begin to fade …

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

8 thoughts on “World Unexplored

  1. Reminds me of when I would go clubbing and had come outside for a breath of fresh air.

    Like

  2. Romantic indeed 😀

    Like

  3. Walking in the rain with a beloved holding my hand. I love walking in the rain with the rain hitting my face. It can be a very intimate and quiet time shared with someone very special.. Your words took me there. Nicely done Melody.

    Like

    • I’ve always been fascinated by the way the rain changes the light. It fires up my imagination every time, but you can see I’m easily distracted.

      Like

  4. You’re certainly in the right part of the world to enjoy your fascination. I’ll think of this the next time it rains, instead of wishing it away.

    Like

    • We have a lot of rain, yes, but it makes Portland one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. Thank you for visiting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

