Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Journey’s End

14 Comments

The Book of Memory

When my body grows too old to care

And I live only in my memory

It is not at a blank white wall I stare

For there’s your smile, undimmed by age, before me

And when I scan the book of memory

From burning youth to wise old age

Your lovely face smiles out at me

From every page.

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

14 thoughts on “Journey’s End

  1. Beautiful, moving poem. Fresh, vibrant prose. Well, well done!

    -GD
    Visit my writing blog at http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • Thank you. I left a comment on one of your lovely poems as well. Congratulations! Today you are one of the new “things” I am learning!

      Like

  2. I relly like this. Even though it is short, it says just the right things. 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t know, Theresa, I started it at the beginning and ended it at the end, when I thought I’d said it all. Really. 🙂 We really need an edit button here. I’m glad you liked it, my dear.

      Like

  3. Beautiful. Just beautiful. I have thought of this moment in time you mention. Yes, it will be just as you describe. Thank you for the perfection of catching this image.

    Like

    • It wouldn’t surprise me, Frank, to learn that you and I have shared a lot of thoughts, whether at the same time or no. Once when the words of a poem were pouring into my mind and out through my pen, I wondered if this same transmission had gone out to anyone but me. I’m sure a hundred people could receive it and either interpret it differently, or perhaps simply ignore it. I think about important stuff like this. 😛

      Like

  4. Beautiful! Made me think of someone all the way though =) I love it.

    Like

    • Eva, I hope it was someone you loved. I was no more than 24 when I wrote this, and still when I read my words now, I remember how I felt when I was writing it. I remember.

      Like

  5. That was simplistic, yet so beautiful that i couldn’t hel but smile as the feeling sunk in. I mean sometimes the most simplest of things is what derives smile, you just achieved that. It is one of those poems which has that feel good factor in it! One word for this poem sweet, no doubt this journey will end someday, but the memories they will live forever!

    Like

  6. Lovely words and sentiments, Melody; a short poem full of feeling, and elegant in its brevity.

    The way I’m going, I won’t be able to remember anyone’s smile! Guess I’d better get some Gingko!

    Like

    • Well, Lynda, I’m keeping my mind active and interested. There’s so much to see, hear and learn every day! Oddly enough this is something I wrote when I was quite young. It was as if a window opened briefly between then and the future and this slipped through. But I’m nowhere near there now. That’s still in the future. 🙂

      Like

  7. The future is ours to embrace, with all its triumphs and disappointments, as well. I wish everything bright and happy for you, Melody. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

