Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Changed Forever

6 Comments

Ground Zero Towers

I hear the whisp’ring of the leaves

Rustling and murmuring to the breeze

As it ruffles their lacy branches.

The trees show no resistance

They bend and sway and

Dance in the arms of the wind.

I, too, have learned to bend and

Sway, and to do what I must to

Survive this brave new world, but

Sometimes when my heart is weary

And wond’ring what the future

Holds, I allow myself, just for a

Moment, to pause and remember

That day in September …

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Changed Forever

  1. This seems so tight just now. I loved how …

    “They bend and sway and dance in the arms of the wind”

    Lovely!

    Like

  2. Just lovely, Melody. I think we will all remember “that day in September.” Wonderfully done.

    Like

    • As was yours, Cher. I don’t imagine there’s anyone who’s not thinking about it. I try not to dwell on it. I did enough of that in the early days, but we learn our lessons and we go on. This is from the Dixie Chicks, from the 9/11 tribute show, I hope it speaks to you as it does to me. Take care, Cher. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pceKmManke8

      Like

  3. You are a gifted writer. I’m so glad you visited my blog. Otherwise I may not have found you! Thank you again.

    Like

    • Carol, thank you so much. You’ve just made my day! I think you’re a very gifted painter. I’ve never touched brush to canvas (walls don’t count, do they?), although I have a very specific small painting in mind to do, if I ever get up the nerve. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

