Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Patterns

17 Comments

Me on my way out of town. Photo by Anastasia Koros

Tonight as I gazed into

My mirrored eyes

I saw in my reflection

The shape of my skull

Beneath the flesh, and

I saw the pattern

Of my life, and

Perceived the rhythm

Underlying the flow

Of my days.

Perhaps I have gained

A newer perspective

As the years have passed by

Or perhaps I have simply

Learned to recognize

The threads of the patterns,

But whichever way the truth lies

I will follow to the very end.

Deep in the night

The church bell tolls and

Someday it will toll for me

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

17 thoughts on “Patterns

  1. So very beautiful and haunting. Keep at following those threads and looking at your gorgeous visage in the mirror. There is the wisdom of the world there. I love you. -H

    Like

  2. Thanks, Heather. Just want to say I’m exploring a theme here, and am actually in a very good mood. If you play your cards right, I might let you be President of my fan club. Love you, too! šŸ™‚

    Like

    • I hate to tell you, I proclaimed myself president of your fan club long ago. There are more members than you know! I am an incredibly diligent chick when it comes to love! And, yay for good moods. Mwah!

      Like

  3. wow, take all the words written above and they all ring loud and true. And all I’m left with is wow

    Like

    • Wow works for me. I tried to leave a comment on your poem, but the comments were closed. It was beautiful, powerful, painful and it broke my heart!

      Like

  4. it’s beautiful and deep

    Like

  5. I don’t think anyone does soul searching as pretty as you!

    Like

  6. I find I love the maturity and wealth of living I have experienced … however, I find I cannot accept I am older and fight it tooth-and-nail. I’ll Never grow up! šŸ™‚

    Nice to read the way you express yourself. You grow more eloquent by the minute.

    Like

  7. It has deep meaning but I can feel the energy, I love it!

    Zero Dramas

    Like

  8. Very deep and touching poem. It will definitely be interesting to see what happens when the church bell tolls. Hm.

    Like

  9. Yes it may toll some day………..but then again with a little bit of bloomin’ luck, I won’t be there to hear it. Great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

