Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

City of Roses

8 Comments

Roses for my City of Roses

My apartment perches

Atop its tier of four

Where I look out into the

Treetops that surround me.

In winter when the branches

Are bare and sere and twin

In color to the leaden sky,

They still are beautiful to see.

The longest and the coldest

Of the three autumns I have

Passed here, the rainiest and

Grayest I have yet endured,

Will in the end be only water

For my City of Roses

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

8 thoughts on “City of Roses

  1. Beautifully said. I could almost look out your windows at the view. Thank you for posting. 8?)

    Like

    • Thank you, Frank. It’s cloudy today (big surprise) and looking out the window at 3:20 p.m., it seems so much later. In three weeks the days will start to get longer again and I’ll be glad. I’m also glad right now that you liked my poem. 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautiful poem Melody! And I like your new layout. Very cozy and Christmas like, especially with the snowfall. 🙂

    Like

  3. Well you’ll never have to be concerned about having enough water for the roses on the West Coast. 😀

    Like

    • Theresa, when I arrived here, at the end of January, 2009, and in spite of their having had a short, heavy spell of winter and snow, the rosebushes in the breezeway of our complex were still green, just as they’re green now. It’s a good tradeoff, as far as I’m concerned!

      Like

      • My roses at our previous home bloomed from April till mid December. I sometimes want to drive back by to see if the new owners kept my rose bush. It was twenty-one years old and would grow to the second story and produce the loveliest long-stemmed pink flowers. I do miss it!

        Like

      • Theresa, I hear you. I used to own a home in Southern MD. We put in more trees than any of our neighbors, and the last time I was by there, it looked amazing. What a long time ago it seems now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

