Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

For The Children In My Life

4 Comments

ledhulahoops.blogspot.com

Christmas Tree

Christmas lights drape every window

Though there’s not a hint of snow

I could hear the church bells ringing

As I hung the mistletoe

Familiar songs play everywhere

And signs count down the shopping days

Santa’s enthroned in his big red chair

At the mall while elves fill up his sleigh

Even Ebenezer Scrooge would smile

To see the happy children’s faces

The reindeer will fly for many a mile

As through the night dear Santa races

Bringing stockings, gifts and Christmas joy

To fill the hearts of each girl and boy!

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

4 thoughts on “For The Children In My Life

  1. Oh! That photograph brought me back to being five years old. It reminds me of the trees we would decorate as a family. Your poem was a touchingly warm and superb melding of words painting the Christmas Season! Well done you! 😀

    Like

    • We have a little Christmas tree for the first time in four years. There are also, surprise, colored lights all around the windows. They’ve made a huge improvement in my outlook!

      Like

  2. Reading your poem I felt like I was traveling back in time to my childhood. The picture reminds me of the beautiful paintings of Thomas Kincade. It reminds me of Christmas in Colorado when a snow storm comes by after the homes are decorated. The trees branches all plumped up with new fallen snow with the tree lights turned on is beauty to behold. Thank you..

    Like

    • It isn’t Kincade, but it’s Kincade-ish. No Colorado Christmases, but plenty of Maryland Christmases under my belt. I used to go all out, and eventually, when I and my stored belongings are reunited, I will again. For now what I have not only suffices but makes me very happy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

