Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Piece of Heaven

6 Comments

black-and-white-branches-tree-vintage-Favim.com-358725

I am longing for beauty and warmth ~

For color and sunlight on this dreary

White-skied day nine weeks from Spring ~

After the glory of multi-hued holiday

Decorations ~ this season of the year seems

Like a penance or a punishment ~

With no time off for good behavior ~

I have already braved the icy winds

Once ~ fighting to keep my umbrella

Turned right-side-out and my hat on ~

And now I watch with jaundiced eye

As icy rain smears itself across the panes ~

Ravel’s “Bolero” pours from the speakers ~

Impassioned notes that labor to dispel

The chill of this winter-dark afternoon ~

I sit up taller and unconsciously my body

Turns and yearns toward the source of

All that liquid beauty, those singing

Strings, the spear-like bursts of sound ~

From the bright gleaming brass, with

The underbeat of the drums throbbing

And urging me toward an end I do not

Comprehend but am quite unable to resist ~

And while the chords rush toward the final

Crescendo, my soul is ravished and on fire ~

In a consummation of beauty and music

And the words that cannot describe it

This side of heaven ~

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “A Piece of Heaven

  1. So many memories come to mind as I read and reread your poem. Bolero… ahhh yes… I have been known to turn the lights off, turn the volume up and lay down to stare at the stars. MMmmmm …

    Yet weather-wise I have been given to thoughts of anxiety that the weather has not treated you with kindness this season. Please be well. Thoughts and prayers for you and yours.

    Like

    • Frank, I think it was just one cold, rainy afternoon too many. I was remembering Las Vegas, those blue skies, and time in the sun beside the pool. Driving through town and drinking in the sights and the lights. A girl can dream, can’t she? I’ll take all the thoughts and prayers you have to spare. Thank you for being a friend!

      Like

  2. Melody,

    Beautiful as are all your efforts. Whenever I long to read sublime poetry, I look for something you have written.

    Larry

    Like

    • Larry, have I mentioned that the position of President of my fan club is open? Seriously, thank you so much for your lovely compliment.

      Like

  3. I love how music moves us in just this way. Perfect. Beautiful descriptives bring your words to life. Well done.

    Like

    • Dani, it’s no coincidence that in movies and television shows there’s always music playing. Music enhances every experience. I don’t think I’ve ever met a person who didn’t like some kind of music. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

