Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Tinder

9 Comments

Ah, the breeze.

The cool night breeze ~
Suddenly huffs
Through my window ~
Pouring itself
Over every available
Inch of skin ~

Lulling me into
A languorous mood ~
Caressing my flesh ~
As it alternately
Teases and calms
My jangled nerves ~

The air is so fresh ~
It smells of freedom
And of faraway places ~
I fill my lungs and
Somehow I fill
My heart as well ~

And thus it is
That I go on ~
When all my hope
Should have
Been gone ~

Once more the spark
Within me is ignited ~
And I remember ~
That oxygen makes fire
Burn all the brighter ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

9 thoughts on “Tinder

  1. Ahhh, beautiful. It’s amazing what a cool breeze can do, especially when it comes unexpectedly. And in the middle of the night. 🙂 Wonderfully expressed and yes the oxygen definitely feeds the soul. Lovely morning reading here.

    Like

    • Thank you, Pete. I’m totally in love with the air and the breezes and the wide open sky here in Oregon. It gives me lots of inspiration. I appreciate your dropping by. 🙂

      Like

  2. Melody, this is absolutely beautiful and sensual. You have amazing talent!

    Like

    • Cher, thank you. At night when I’m saying my prayers, I pile up my pillows, lie on my tummy, put my chin in my hands and relax into the breeze that always seems to be blowing here. You probably can’t tell, but I’m simply intoxicated by the PNW air. People who visit from LA must faint frequently, what with their lungs not being used to fresh air and all. I’m babbling. What I really mean is thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

  3. Melody this is so very lovely. I love wind and can relate so well to your words. here. 🙂

    Like

  4. Melody,

    Every time I read your work, I think well she’s done it this time. You are a surprising talent that I never even knew was under my nose … sitting all the time, just as quiet as a budding orchid opening and unfurling petals into the light-filled sky. Keep them coming!

    Like

    • Capricorns come into their own late in life. I’m simply a late bloomer – me and Grandma Moses. Thank you, my dear. 🙂

      Like

  5. Wonderful poem. I can almost hear some languid music being played with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

