Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Lover’s Prayer

16 Comments

flat550x550075f-parting1.jpg

The Parting

At a certain level ~
Pain has a presence of its own ~
This pain breathes into me ~
Without a warning ~ with
No time to prepare ~
And I am caught out ~
With no chance of escape
Or of evasion ~
No way to change the
Certainty in your eyes
Once more to doubt ~
I would have spared you
Had my body not betrayed
Me ~ and I know my heart
Is in my eyes ~
From here on the path
Lies hidden ~ and I cannot
See the stars ~
Will we go on ~
Now that we know
That now is all we have ~
Have we the courage
To live our love to its
conclusion ~
My love that I be blessed
To breathe my last
Here in your arms ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

16 thoughts on “A Lover’s Prayer

  1. Your poem quickly found it’s way to my heart. It is beautifully written. Thank you for sharing this poem and picture.

    Like

  2. Beautiful and complicated in its simplicity and directness. Kind of like you. Thank you for both writing it and sharing it. XO- Heather

    Like

    • Thank you for reading and liking it. It’s been in my mind for a while. I have a closer acquaintance with pain now and with the drugs that ease it, and I think next time I’d opt for the pain. Love you, Melody

      Like

  3. A deep and heartfelt poem. Beautiful photo as well. Thank you for sharing.

    (I hope your shoulder feels better too.)

    Like

    • Thank you, Alex, so nice to see you here. I saw my doctor today and he’s happy with my progress and said that I can resume my twice-a-week exercise class, with modifications. Soon I’ll be out and about on the internet again. I’ll have to catch up on your travels. Say hi to Lisen for me!

      Like

  4. I think this is what we all hope for. Beautifully said. 🙂

    Like

  5. My favorite subject; love. I’m fascinated how women and men see it differently. I thought this poem to be elegant and substantial. I’ll be honest and say that I find these, as opposed to my simplistic ones, harder to follow, but the deeper quality is there to see and admire. Thank you Melody, I loved it.

    Like

    • Well, Danny, ‘they’ say love makes the world go round. Looking for it, finding it, having it, losing it, the permutations are endless. Thank you for loving my poem.

      Like

  6. I’m floored and fascinated here right now. As a person who’s been “thrust” upon with chronic pain the last couple of years for some god foresaken, unexplainable reason, this totally resonates with me. I’ve just read it like eighteen times in a row. 🙂 So thank you. And I didn’t know. Keep going. 🙂

    Like

    • Pete, I recently fell and seriously injured my shoulder. It required surgery and many, many heavy drugs and I experienced a great deal of pain. I’m still doing PT but expect to make a full recovery. This poem came from that experience and from my new and deeper acquaintance with said pain. I just carried it a bit further and took a bit of poetic license.

      I’m really impressed. No one has Ever read one of my poems eighteen times before! Thanks so much. 🙂

      Like

  7. Melody,

    Glad you are improving so quickly. I had to reread this in order for the meaning to sink in. A lot more complex than usual … but it has broadened my understanding. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

