Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

The Singularity

7 Comments

totalwallpapers.com PansiesIt’s eighteen minutes
Till December ~
The street lights
Sparkle down ~
On the rain-wet
Pavement ~ and
I fear that it will
Wash away
The sidewalk art ~
Where leaves have
Left their images ~
Imprinted on the
Unforgiving concrete ~

The water overruns
The gutters
As I watch ~ and
Hapless pansies
Are drowned
In the flood ~
Their bodies
Strewn like victims
Of a mass
Extinction ~
Or of a singularity ~
The symbol
In astronomy of
A black hole ~

And I marvel ~
At how even
Rain and flowers ~
Follow the laws
Of the Universe ~

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

7 thoughts on “The Singularity

  1. All should be so certain. Nice imagery.

    Like

    • Well, it’s not death or taxes, but there Are some rules which must be obeyed. The center still holds, whether we would have it so or not.

      Like

  2. The gutters stuck with me. 🙂

    Like

  3. The imprint on the concrete from the fallen leaves and those hapless pansies were what got me! Wonderful!

    Like

    • Thank you, Theresa. All of Nature is wonderful to me. I have seen grass growing up through concrete and marveled at the strength of those soft little spears. In fact, I love the way pansies are so tough. I’ve seen them with their bright little faces smiling through the snow. They were no match for this rain storm, though. I’m just glad it wasn’t snow, because it would have been up to my second-floor windows!

      Like

Leave a Reply

