Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Dark Mystery

7 Comments

angels-dark-thick-forest-wallpaperThere’s a thing
I’ve noticed
About beauty ~
It seems the
Moment beauty
Is observed ~
It starts to fade ~

Perhaps it cannot
Withstand ~
The pitiless and
Unending scrutiny ~
Of those who would
Possess it ~
Sully it with
Their greedy hands ~
Their lustful eyes ~

Or perhaps it is
As a wise man said ~
That familiarity
Breeds contempt ~

Maybe it is
Something in our
Human nature ~
That causes us to
Look for flaws ~

Or perhaps we are
Simply grown jaded ~
And must be
Forever on the hunt
For something newer ~
More exciting ~

Or mayhap it is
Simply that there
Is that in us ~
Which would see
Beauty ~
Brought down ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

7 thoughts on “Dark Mystery

  1. Interesting. Beauty must be fleeting eh? 🙂

    Like

  2. Great poem Melody. Love the last lines, very true, unfortunately.

    Like

    • I’ve noticed that when someone new comes along everyone jumps on the bandwagon to praise them, but one little misstep and everyone starts to tear them down. Hard not to think it’s an unfortunate fault in ourselves.

      Like

      • Not always. A true friend stays the course good times and bad ones. Misteps included and offers a helping hand to find the way. Yes it is rarer than it should be.

        Like

      • Frank, I was thinking about how we treat our celebrities. I know what true friends do, because I have true friends and I try to be one just as I know you do. But yes, indeed, it is much rarer than it should be. 🙂

        Like

      • Yes, anyone that has the public eye is held to a high standard no one can meet all the time. They receive a condemnation when they fall of the pedestal and make bad decisions. Yet, there is forgiveness in the long run. Examples; Liz Taylor/Eddie Fisher, Spenser Tracy/Kathrine Hepburn, John Wayne, Clinton, and recently Lindsey Lohan. Media loves a scandal or a Princess Diana syndrom as it sells newspapers and gains viewers thus advertiser prices increase and profit rises. My Christmas Wish is that each of us try a little harder to live by the motto: Treat others as we wish to be treated.

        Like

Leave a Reply

