Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Perspective

9 Comments

On Vacation in Florida

On Vacation in Florida

Thirty pounds and
Fifty years ago …

The eyes that smile
At me from the
Photograph ~
Are full of innocence
And trust ~
The girl I see is
Eager to try her wings ~
In this brand new
Grown-up life ~

Head full of plans
And ideas and
Yearning for love ~
Totally blind to
The years between
Then and now ~

With a tender finger
I trace the cheek
Of this younger me ~
And wonder ~
What the next fifty years
Will bring ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

9 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. We feel that everything’s possible when we’re young, that the universe will conspire to make all our plans come true… Then comes the time of learning πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I must not have learned very well, because I still believe everything’s possible. And I still make plans, but now I take nothing for granted, not even the rest of the day. It’s a very freeing way to live. I checked out your blog, and I like your style. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Getting old ain’t for sissies. LOL Seriously though love this photo… every bit of what is portrayed here is still there. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Dani, thank you, and it’s true. Inside I’m Still that girl, and I still dream and hope and believe. Spirit does not age, only the body. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. This is one of three of my favorite photographs of you. Love you Sis! ❀

    Like

    • I was on vacation in Florida with my crazy roommate, Barbara. The trip that ended with Hurricane whoever? We spent our last night out in the halls with our floormates, playing cards and flirting. The hotel wanted us out of our rooms where we couldn’t be hurt by flying glass if the windows went.

      I saw my first music video (1964), If I remember correctly it was on a machine called a Movieola, and it was “Les Garcons et las Filles,” by Francoises Hardy.

      I saw an old boyfriend – for the last time as it turns out. I heard from a mutual acquaintance that he had disappeared, possibly killed, but I heard nothing after that. Oh, and I had a Summer romance with one of the bartenders from my hotel. He’s the one who took this picture. Talk about memories!

      Like

Leave a Reply

