Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Poem Noir

10 Comments

Lovers' Parting

The Last Time I Saw You

They’ve called my train
Three times now ~
The conductor is
Taking up the stairs ~

How can I leave you
Where will I go ~
I can’t live all alone
In the flat we shared ~

I hear the train wheels
Turning in my head ~
I hear our favorite song
Playing in the background ~
As if my life were an old
French film ~
In black and white ~
The soundtrack
Just a little out of synch ~

I kept hoping ~ that you
Would ask me to stay ~
Beg me to stay ~
But I was a dreamer
And you are no beggar
Whatever else you may be ~

You are as much a
Mystery to me as ever ~

As I look into your eyes ~
For what may well be
The last time ~
I feel my heart break ~
Crack open from
Side to side ~

But there is no change
In your expression ~
As I pick up the pieces ~
Hand them sadly to you ~
And board my train ~

[Background music swells then fades]

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

10 thoughts on “Poem Noir

  1. Palpable sadness here Melody. Sometimes this is just how things go. Lovely sad words. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love the mixture of poetry and music.. I have been there and boarded the plane not a train.. You captured the moment.

    Like

  3. Bloody outstanding Melody! I saw, felt and lived through each of your words.

    Like

  4. There is beauty even in heartbreak and you express it so well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

