Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Summer of the Child

6 Comments

The golden Summer of my childhood

The golden Summer of my childhood

Memories of my childhood

I remember long hot days
In the endless Summer sunshine
The sound of the honeybees
Abuzz in the pale pink
Heaven-smelling sweetheart roses
Which yearly overtook
The porch of our house

I remember the touch
Of the air on my skin
The rasp of the crickets, and
A honeysuckle breeze
In the soft Southern night

And there is always music
And a sense of belonging
And the sure and certain knowing
I am a part of something
I am a member of my tribe
My pack my family
I matter and I am loved

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Summer of the Child

  1. Beautiful memories. Special memories that not all children have. If these are your memories you are very lucky. Poetically phrased.

    Like

    • Frank, those Are my memories and, yes, I was and am very lucky. The older I get and the more of other people’s stories I hear, the more I realize just how lucky! We were often short of money, but we had what was important and we passed it on to our own children.

      Like

  2. It’s a good feeling isn’t it. 🙂 Sweet memories beautifully written for sure.

    Like

  3. Honeysuckle breeze, honeybees and sweetheart roses spilling onto our porch brings it rushing back. We all belong to our tribe … our family. You matter … more than you’ll ever know.

    Like

    • It was so long ago and so far away, but the memories still take me back there. Talk about time travel! Love you, little sister!

      Like

Leave a Reply

