Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Trip to the Dentist

8 Comments

I'm not really as scared as I look!

I’m not really as scared as I look!

I lie Ihere on my back
Helpless as any tipped
Over turtle
My mouth full of dental
Instrumentation
My goggles protective
Bespattered with water
And small bits of plaque

The pretty young Dental
Assistant is almost
Unrecognizable
Masked, gowned and
Gloved
Her microscope eyes
Probe the innermost
Recesses of my
Gaping jaws

I catch a glimpse of
Myself in the
Overhead light
Vulnerable and drooling
Onto my blue paper
Shield
Grunting responses
Which luckily she
Understands

Though itโ€™s not very
Pretty to witness
The dentist is happy
My smile is agleam
I have a new toothbrush
And four months from
Now Iโ€™ll be back
To do it all over again

Remember folks
Ignore your teeth
And theyโ€™ll go away

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

8 thoughts on “A Trip to the Dentist

  1. hahah wonderful. And YES ignore them or live too hard and they WILL go away. Great picture and very funny- made me cackle! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I read this aloud to Joe and we both chuckled. You are the clever girl!
    By the way, I changed my Gravatar photo to a lovely portrait of Cosmo. He was being so good that day.

    Like

    • It gave me something to think about while she was splashing and digging around in there! I got good marks from my dentist and I’m now in charge of my own plaque! Glad if it gave you a chuckle. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Some days it’s hard not to hope for that sweet melody, mine have caused me a lifetime of discomfort so far. LOL

    Like

  4. A tipped over turtle … so funny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

