Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Picture Perfect Day

6 Comments

I Wonder Where This Leads

I Wonder Where This Leads

The trees are restless
In the tumultuous air ~
And many of the
Early-turning leaves ~
Have let go of the
Safety of their moorings
To follow their
Tormentor ~

People pass by on
The sidewalks below
Their shoulders hunched
Against the icy air ~
Scarved and gloved
And booted ~ and
Ready for the cold ~

The sky is alive
With birds today ~
They land for a
Moment’s respite ~
Then they’re off again
In a southerly direction ~
I’ve seen more birds
In the last few days
Than I’ve seen all year ~

The daylight fades
Earlier each evening ~
And every sunrise is
A bit more laggardly ~
The leaves have turned
Overnight ~ or so
It seems ~ but today

The sky is a brilliant
Blue ~ not a
Cloud in sight ~
It’s a blessing of a day ~
The perfect day for
A walk ~ rustling and
Crushing the brittle leaves ~

It’s a glorious day
To be alive ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “A Picture Perfect Day

  1. so lovely. tony

    Like

    • Thank you, Tony. I feel as though we’re having a long-distance appreciation fest. I truly enjoy the way you write, which proceeds, of course, from the way you think. It does my heart good to know there are people like you in the world.

      Like

  2. Fall is my most favorite time of year. This is lovely.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Dani, this is my annual Fall poem! 🙂

    Like

  4. One of my favorite things to do is to crunch the fallen leaves. It feels like a rite of passage. The familiar sounds make me feel as I did as a child. Now I no longer roll around and cover myself with the leaves, but in my mind I still remember how that felt.

    Like

    • I don’t do that any more (though sometimes I’d like to), but I do like to walk along the leaf-covered sidewalks and make that scuffing, crunching sound that only Autumn leaves can.

      Like

Leave a Reply

