Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Secret Place

11 Comments

mondaymeme2013-10-28Was it a shelter
Or a shrine ~
Perhaps a
Landmark ~
Or a clue ~
Left as a subtle
Reminder ~

I probably will
Never know ~
But I’ll remember ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

11 thoughts on “Secret Place

  1. I found a place like that once. It was a hobo’s camp by a rail road track that ran through part of my aunt’s farm. The people that had made that their secret place had long left it behind. It’s still a secret place in my heart. Thank you for bringing it to surface again.

    Like

    • Dan, some places are simply memorable. They stick in one’s memory and rise up, as piercing as ever, without the least warning. Hooray for secret places in the heart!

      Like

  2. That’s lovely.
    Thanks for participating in my Monday Meme.

    Like

  3. It does make you only wonder right? I have a place like that in the woods by where I used to live. It’s a big pile of rocks, altar style, with small wooden benches around it. . I have no idea why.

    Like

  4. Wish I had a place like that. Maybe I just haven’t found mine yet.

    Like

  5. what a lovely idea. tony

    Like

  6. Creepy to me and I wil explain the reason. I have watched the movie, “The Lovely Bones” a number of times (because I hate that Stanley Tucci is playing the villain!), and there is a neighbor who builds something quite similar to this. It is referred to as ‘a blind’, where he plans to hide away and then jump out to grab the older sister when she is jogging. He is the serial killer who had already murdered her older sister. But she figures him out and ruins his best laid plans. Ha ha!! If you haven’t yet seen it, do, for the acting is chilling and reminds one to remain ever vigilant.

    Like

    • And, Theresa, the reason that you think I would watch something like this would be … ?

      This was written in response to a challenge from a fellow blogger, to write a post to match the picture. Who knows, maybe it was made many years ago by a traveler on a long trip. I don’t want my beautiful shelter turned into a vicious killer’s hideout, please and thank you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

