Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Song of the Universe

7 Comments

The Universe

The Universe

I stand on the edge
Of the precipice ~
And shout my poems
Into the abyss ~
I sing my songs
To the night ~
And the Universe
Sings back to me ~

I rise into the night ~
To join the stars
In the heavens ~
And as I journey onward ~
I notice all the voices
On each world are singing
But a single note ~

And the faster I go and
The farther ~ the more
The notes blend together ~

I hear the “music
Of the spheres” ~ beloved
Of Pythagoras ~ a Greek
Philosopher ~ to whom
I am now connected ~
Across more than two
Thousand years ~ by this
Celestial sound and
Light show ~

My heart is pounding ~
I am breathless and
Ecstatic ~ as I join my
Voice to all the others ~
And there in the vast and
Empty depths of space ~
I am a part of it all ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

7 thoughts on “Song of the Universe

  1. Inspiring and VERY big! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pete Armetta, thank you So much! I knew that you would understand!

    Like

  3. Shout your poems and sing your songs. I am listening. I join you in singing and moving with the music of the night. Yes there are a host of listeners in this universe. Beautifully written..thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  4. Pingback: 42 Days Younger than Kylie

Leave a Reply

