Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Early Arrival

2 Comments

Robin in the Snow

Robin in the Snow

A robin perches
On a snow-encrusted
Branch ~
Looking round as if
Bewildered ~

No landmarks to be
Seen ~ in the white
Unbroken coverlet ~
Of snow ~

And as he sits
He seems to don ~
A cloak made up
Of sparkling flakes ~
That whirl like a
Tiny snow squall ~
As he takes flight ~

I hope Whoever
Keeps his eye
Upon the sparrow ~

Watches over
Robins too ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

2 thoughts on “Early Arrival

  1. You know He does. I loved this. We had five robins and a cardinal sitting about on the tree limbs, whilst watching the humans shovel pathways in the snow.

    Like

    • Birdy TV. I actually saw the first robins here in January, but this one guy kept looking around like – where am I? We’re back to rainy 40s now, where we should be. Only four weeks till Spring now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

