Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Self Immolation

7 Comments

images.jpg mermaidMy feelings burn
From the inside out ~
Searing themselves
Into the page ~

My heart is beating
Like a wild thing
In my breast ~
And I don’t know if ~
I want it all to stop
Or to go on ~

If this torment is love ~
Then why is it so
Fervently desired ~

Why would one choose
To yearn and ache and
Skate the very edge
Of madness ~ for the
Sake of the Beloved ~

And I am caught as
Surely ~ as any sailor
By a Siren’s song ~

I can’t ~ I won’t ~
Give up this wild
Intoxication ~
This sweet
Exhilaration ~

I am undone ~
What shall
Become of me ~
And do I even care ~

I burn with love ~
Just as the poets said ~
And what is more
I lit the torch myself ~

My eyes are
Open wide ~
I know the score ~
And I will risk it all
For love ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

7 thoughts on “Self Immolation

  1. God I love that word “self-immolation”- I’ve never heard of it so thank you! 🙂 I think you express here something so universal, it makes me think the answers hold the meanting of life.

    Like

  2. Your words have captured the feelings perfectly. Nicely done!!

    Like

  3. I had to look up the word immolation. (See … a continuing education is available to all who still wish to learn.) I see that you admit to lighting this fire of deeply-burning love. Waving a painted fan will keep the flames alive. When one loves like this it can be all-consuming. Isn’t it great to feel the burn? You know you are still alive!

    Like

    • Theresa, “feel the burn” as a love slogan. I like it. And you know, sometimes you just can’t resist putting your hand into the flame to see how hot it really is. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

