Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Forest Destiny

2 Comments

the-Forest-church-2-700x419I’ve never been this
Deep within the forest ~
So I’ve no way to know ~
If silence is the norm
Or if this is unusual ~

I’m sure that I saw
Movement from the
Corner of my eye ~
But when I turn to look
The stillness holds ~

Am I enchanted ~
Or is it the forest ~
My senses are disordered ~
But I sense magic
In the air ~

This is the sort of place
That promises all kinds
Of marvels ~ to those who
Stray within its borders ~
And some will never leave ~

Deeper I travel into the
Secret depths ~ amid the ferny
Spires that edge the path ~
The trees bend closer to
Me as I pass by ~

I have a rendezvous ~ beneath
The oldest and most powerful
Of them all ~ the witch has
Called and I must answer ~
It is my duty and my destiny ~

My shoulders ache beneath
This burden I cannot put down ~
If magic makes an end of me ~
I leave this record of my journey ~
So that the world will know ~

Though I might not have won
The battle ~ I was in the fight ~
I pray you lay my bones in the
Forest where I fell ~
And remember me with honor ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

2 thoughts on “Forest Destiny

  1. This was absolutely perfect. I felt as well as saw the sacredness of this place.

    Like

    • It’s the stillness. I respect forests and would never go into one alone. There are some tricksy creatures there in the wood, and nothing is as it seems.

      Like

Leave a Reply

