Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Sing Freedom

7 Comments

645185-bigthumbnail.jpg songbirdPoor little songbird ~
Look what they’ve
Done to you ~
Captured and
Caged you and
Broken your heart ~

Quickly now
I’m here to save you ~
Free you and
Fly with you
Into the night ~

Then I shall punish
Those who enslaved you ~
They shall know torment
Until they repent ~

This world was yours
Long ere it was ours ~
And in the end it
May be yours again ~

If that is so ~
I pray that you
Grant us more mercy ~
Than we showed
To you ~

So soar little songbird
Into the boundless sky ~
And sing your joyous
Freedom song again ~

(I have just learned of Robin Williams death, and I am devastated. Fly free, Robin, I dedicate this to you. You will be sorely missed.)

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

7 thoughts on “Sing Freedom

  1. My heart hurts

    Like

  2. “Fly Robin Fly … Up Up To the Sky” (song lyrics. I am sad as well. What a talent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

