Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

There But For The Grace . . .

8 Comments

WEB+Homeless+man

A cold breeze whips the bare branches
And a perfect storm of leaves erupts ~
As a mini cyclone whirls and tumbles
The tattered survivors of its brutal assault ~

Movement catches my eye ~ and a homeless man
Comes into view ~ pushing his bag-laden cart
With all his worldly possessions and one
Surprising thing ~ a Christmas tree about four
Feet in height ~ protruding hopefully from
The front of his pilfered grocery cart ~

He stops as I watch his progress ~ to wrap
His coat more warmly around himself ~
And to retie the rope which holds it all ~
And probably him ~ together

He does not glance up at my window and
I am glad ~ for I feel almost obscenely lucky
To be where I am and not where he is ~
Although there may still come a time ~
I take nothing now for granted in these
Parlous times ~

Toilette completed ~ future still uncertain ~
The object of my reflections moves on ~
Completely unaware of the feelings he
Has conjured in my sympathetic heart ~

And I want to run after him with money ~
With promises that one day it will
All be better ~ but no one can promise that
With any truth ~ and he moves on ~

Glancing at the sun’s position in the sky
And planning where he will sleep tonight ~
As I resume my interrupted day in my
Warm dry house ~ with my full belly
And my aching heart ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

8 thoughts on “There But For The Grace . . .

  1. Suggestion: The word is “perilous” not “parlous.” That said, you wrote a wonderful poem. Congratulations. Jill

    Like

    • Jill, thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it. As for “parlous”, it’s an archaic form of the word perilous, and it means “full of danger or uncertainty; precarious”. I just wanted to see if you were paying attention, and you were! 🙂

      Like

  2. Melody,

    You have touched upon this intimate moment many of us share but have yet to interpret so perfectly. Blessings!

    Like

    • Thank you, Theresa, and blessings to you as well, and happy holidays. Let’s hope that 2015 will be kinder to us all. May it be happy, healthy and prosperous for you and yours! love, Melody

      Like

Leave a Reply

