Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Winter Thoughts

4 Comments

Thomas-Kinkade-Winter-winter-23436572-1280-1024A chill winter sunset blazes
Just above the far horizon
All of the rest of the sky is
A hazy mix of rose and gold

The little house across the street
Ringed in by the trees and backlit
By the dying of the sun’s light
Looks like a Thomas Kinkade print

And just across the hearth I see
Your eyes through the fading daylight
Looking back at me with all the
Love and desire I’ll ever need

I cannot claim to understand
Why I have been so richly blessed
But I vow I will be worthy
Of the gift that I’ve been given

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

4 thoughts on “Winter Thoughts

  1. Very nice – both picture and sentiment. On a rainy thundery night your poem was just right to read and contemplate.

    Like

  2. Frank, thank you for your kind words.Now I’m looking out my windows at what looks like very early spring. I was trying to catch the winter mood before it disappears for another year. I hope you are well and thriving.

    Like

  3. Your words gave me a warm cozy feeling and goosebumps, too. Nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

