Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Dream of Tree

6 Comments

11bad7675febd6b027627f43965ce2f9 Woman to Tree

When I am close to dying
I will go and stand
In the forest

I will put down roots
As I watch the mossy green
Begin to trace its way
From toe tips to ankles
And higher
Though I still do not know
Which way is North

As my skin begins
To harden ‘neath
The sun and rain and
Stormy winds
My arms and fingers
Long have gone for
Limbs and twigs

In Spring they will sprout
With blossoms
Then with tender leaves
They will bear within their
Sheltering branches nests
Full of beauty and of song

Just so might I stand
For centuries
Or perish from a single
Stroke of lightening
In a single night

But either way
I will have lived my dream

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Dream of Tree

  1. Hmmmm! What a beautiful vision you have created. Thank you for sharing this dream….

    Like

    • Frank, I’ve often thought that if I weren’t a person I’d like to be a tree. (And can you believe what you find when you Google ‘fantasy people in trees’?) Thank you for enjoying.

      Like

  2. This is gorgeous. What a vivid imagination and the skills to share it with everyone.

    Like

    • Martha, thank you. You obviously have the skill to share a graceful and much-appreciated compliment. I’m so glad it spoke to you.

      Like

  3. I absolutely adore trees, especially gigantic ones. When the trees came to life in the movies “Lord of The Rings”, I was astounded by their might. As I read your words, I felt the essence of the communion of your soul into the tree, and to my delight the perfection of blending and unity. Beautiful!

    Like

    • Theresa, I’ve always thought there was something magical about trees. They’re so full of light and so wise, and so strong. Look for me in the forest, child . . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

