Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Transition

6 Comments

Butterfly

We do not weep at the death
Of Caterpillar ~
Spinning his tiny shroud
With calm acceptance ~
Knowing ~ as apparently
We do not ~
It is not death that waits ~
Merely the transition
To Butterfly ~

I hope that ~
Should I die before you ~
And drop in
From time to time ~
That you should not
Reject or fear me ~
For surely only love
And beauty come ~
From Butterfly ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Transition

  1. A butterfly is a perfect metaphor for life as we know it. I love the way you express the idea that we do not know the next existence.

    Like

    • There is no death, only change, and I believe we Do know what is next, but the rules of the game don’t allow us to remember. The butterfly seems to take it on trust. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Frank. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have a knack for seeing beyond the edge. I like your phrasing. It makes me think..

    Like

  3. This is very sweet and lovely. I’d butter-fly away. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

