Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Royal Dilemma

2 Comments

a-beautiful_woman-1421386

The silence hums so
Loudly in my ears
I cannot hear the sound
Of my own heart
The heart that I rely on
To guide me through

The very air seems
Preternaturally still
Though I feel it moving
Through my body
I see the rising and the
Falling of my chest

What kind of alchemy
Do you possess
Are you a demon or a
Sorcerer that everyone
Falls prey so swiftly
To your charms

Am I to be the one exception
To the rule
The only citadel to which
You have laid siege
That has not fallen
To your passionate assault

But this is not a game
The stakes I’m playing for
Are higher than they’ve ever been
My heart and the fate of
The kingdom and my people
Hang in the balance

So when I make my choice
I must be guided
By more than love
I must be mindful
Of my duty to my
People and my throne

What shall I do . . .

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

2 thoughts on “Royal Dilemma

  1. Pretty Photograph and very tough decision. I’d go with my heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

