Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

The Pearls

2 Comments

Pearls on blue silk

I reach for the pearls
That you gave me ~
And clasp them
Round my neck ~
The last gift that
You gave me ~
My last tie to you ~
Lies cold and heavy
Against my skin ~
The way my heart
Lies leaden in my breast ~

And I wonder if
It will ever go away ~
This chill that ices
My bones ~ and
Makes all thought
Of warmth and comfort ~
Seem like a mirage
Or a magic spell ~
From long ago ~

Sometimes I think
I should rid myself
Of this last reminder ~
But I know
I never will ~ just
As I know that I
Will never be rid
Of the memory of you ~

I wonder
If you ever think of me ~
If you ever remember
The good times ~
Before it all went
So very wrong ~
So very quickly and
So finally ~

So hate me if you will
But don’t forget me ~
I could bear anything
But that ~

If I would go on ~
I must believe that ~
So long as this world
Shall hold us both ~
You will remember me ~
As I remember you ~

(Originally published November 29, 2012)

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

2 thoughts on “The Pearls

  1. This feels especially poignant since I seem to be reviewing my life and highlighting many memories, both sweet and bitter. Something triggers a moment in time, whereby the world felt as if it was crashing down, or I was lost in romantic bliss. Whichever, this poem brought so many feelings to mind and it seems I have harbored some deep-seated anger. Glad they surfaced so I may shake them out, understand … from this later point-of-view, and put them away once and for all. Pearls glow when the wearer allows the stones to rest against their skin. Cold when set aside yet warm to the touch after getting appreciated. Just like people. Just like neglected lovers.

    Like

  2. Just like life, pearls are made up of layers added to hide the hurts. They can warm or chill. But I’ll never get rid of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

