Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Air Water Fire Earth

6 Comments

Earth Air Fire Water

I look up into the
Deep blue vault
Of the heavens
And think of the thin skin
Of the atmosphere
The only thing that
Keeps us from the
Dark cold depths of
Space and instant
Annihilation

I stand at the edge
Of the ancient cliff
Looking down at the
Restless ocean
As it crashes and
Breaks against the
Shore
Another attempt
In its timeless battle
To take back the land

And later still I sit
Gazing into the fire
Basking in its warmth
Thinking of long ago
Days when I was
A child and Summer
Was forever
And love was ever
A shimmering promise
On the edge of my
Horizon

I remember the fields
With the sun on them
The ripening grain
The forever rows of corn
Tasseled and shining
Green as the leaves
On the trees
That surrounded
And sheltered our
Home

Thus I recite my litany
Air Water Fire Earth
And I feel the pull of you
As I feel the effects of
The gravity I cannot see

To me you are the most
Elemental of all
Without whom nothing
Matters
You are the love of
All my lives

I see the remembrance
Within your eyes as well
And peace and love
Enfold us
We have found each other
At last

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

6 thoughts on “Air Water Fire Earth

  1. Beautiful sentiments. You speak a basic truth! One that the masses need to listen to. This small blue marble is all we have to protect and nurture us. It needs respect and care like it has provided us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I love our beautiful home, the only one we will ever have! Thanks for your kind words.

    Like

  3. I like the way you presented and worded your work. Meaningful and easy to connect with your viewpoint, a picture well-painted.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the way you looked at it with your artist’s eye. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Once again you’ve written a beautiful, thoughtful poem. Keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Martha, from your mouth to my Muse’s ears! Thank you so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

