Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Cajun Summer

8 Comments

lana-del-rey-big-eyes

A breeze from the bayou
Drifts in through
The bedroom window
My skin feels all stretched
Out of shape
And every way I turn
The sheets are hot
And tangled

Robby Robertson is
Singing in the background
Haunting me with his
Sexy raspy voice
Taking me with him
Somewhere Down the
Crazy River

Feelings play along the
Surface of my skin
Like my own St. Elmo’s Fire
And I burn hot enough to
Satisfy the harshest critic

Wind chimes ring out
Through the warm sultry night
This summer is burning
A hole in my heart
And I wonder

How many summers
Are left to me
This time around
And how did I end up here
Tired and broke and
Never more completely
On my own

They call it the Big Easy
But that’s a lie

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

8 thoughts on “Cajun Summer

  1. Wow. You really create a great picture with your words. Keep ’em coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Martha, and that’s the plan! 🙂

    Like

  3. Steamy, questioning and resolution all in one poem. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Steamy is how I always think of New Orleans. I’ve never been there, but I always seem to see it through a heat haze in my mind. Someday I’ll have to see how the reality matches up. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a moving poem, Melody. I even played Gene Watson’s “Love on a Hot Afternoon” as I read and reread it. This song’s setting is the Big Easy too. I spent a couple of years on the tropical Caribbean Coast of Colombia and I know the feeling of the tangled, sweaty sheets and the scattered breezes, sometimes accompanied by a propeller-size ceiling fan that seems sure to fall from its moorings before sunrise.
    Rich Mullen

    Like

    • Thank you, Richard, I very much appreciate the compliment, and I will definitely check out that song. I don’t know about the ceiling fan, but it does sound as if there’s some kind of crisis brewing here. I hope our heroine makes it through all right, but I think she will. She’s tougher than she knows.

      Like

Leave a Reply

