Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Modern Love

7 Comments

Modern Love

You look at me
As if from a great distance ~
As would a survivor in a
Lifeboat ~ look at a
Doomed man on the deck ~

I can tell in your mind
I am already gone ~
A memory from the past
You have unfriended me ~
And blocked my access
To all your social sites ~

I fear that if I come to call
Your maid will tell me
You’re not in ~
Not into me, no ~

Never again will I be
On your guest list ~
Nor will your friends
Be my friends any more ~

I am no longer in ~
My flavor has lost
Its brief appeal ~
I’ve fallen so far from
My place near your star ~

And even though I knew
This day would come ~
The pain is startling ~
More intense than ever
I’d foreseen ~

And I will always see your eyes ~
The day you never even said goodbye ~

(Originally published February 17, 2012)

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

7 thoughts on “Modern Love

  1. Sinking ships … sometimes their loss is more about them than ever about you. Why do we seem to always believe we are to blame for someones deciding to move on without us? We’re just human after all … well not just human, but that’s another exciting discussion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A very interesting (actually several interesting) observation(s), Theresa. Of course it’s harder to be objective when you’re in the throes. Hindsight is always 20/20. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

