Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

A Matched Pair

4 Comments

 

A Matched Pair

They tell me that I feel too deeply ~
They say that I should rein it in ~
I don’t know how ~

I could as simply stem the tide ~
As govern the emotions
That torment and bedevil me ~

Was it an accident of birth ~
Is it a chemical imbalance ~
I only know I love you
To the point of madness ~

And now they say that love demands
A sacrifice I never thought to make ~
They tell me I must go away ~
They say my presence will distract you
From your duties ~

They will not let me say farewell ~
And deep inside I know this note
Will never reach your hands ~

I pray my love ~
That you who know my
Heart so well ~ will know
That I would never leave you ~

They cannot know ~
You are as wild for me
As I for you ~

I do not know
Where they will take me ~
But I will be waiting ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

I'm either a transplanted East Coaster or a born again West Coaster. My heart kept pulling me toward Oregon, and when I followed it I found my dream, which I am living daily. My dream of becoming a writer has come true as well. I am in the company of people who speak my language, and the sense of community is healing hurts I didn't know were there. I am very grateful for my enormous good fortune.

4 thoughts on “A Matched Pair

  1. Oh my dear heart,
    Where have you gone?

    Our hearts beat as one.
    I believe in our love.

    I still feel the strums
    Of your arms and legs.

    The warmth of your breath
    On my neck as you hold me tight.

    I know the truth
    Of love spoken in hushed tones.

    No, this leave taking
    Was not premeditated.

    Nor was it meant
    To punish or have torment.

    No, this sadly
    Has a quality of helpfulness.

    Yet, the pure anguish
    Of separation is extremely distracting.

    I trust in our love!
    I trust you know the depth of my love.

    We are parted for now,
    But we will be together again.

    I impatiently await,
    Our reunion in body and soul.

    We are a matched pair
    Now and forever!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That was beautiful, Frank. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is a separation of a love bond that will never break. The photograph is deliciously romantic and you paint their story with delicate but impassioned words.

    Liked by 2 people

    • People who do not love like these two don’t realize the depth of feeling and commitment of those who do. Some people, some loves, are simply larger than life. There will be a reckoning!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

