Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Sea Change

4 Comments

She reached out and brushed
A small piece of lint from your lapel ~
And you gave her the intimate smile
You used to save for me alone ~

I glanced at her husband ~ but
I could tell the moment ~ had
Totally escaped his notice ~
His arm around her waist ~ a fond
And trusting look upon his face ~

We stood there as we had
So many times before ~ two
Couples ~ four friends ~ but
Suddenly everything had changed ~

The question is what will I do now ~
How shall I react the next time ~
You reach for me in the night ~

Knowing you are thinking of her
How can I bear it ~ how can
I not ~ for no matter where your
Heart has strayed I love you still ~

I could confront you ~ extract a
Promise which I believe you’d keep ~
But knowing that you yearned
For her would be as painful
As the actual affair ~ and you
Seem happy loving both of us ~

I lie there sleepless ~ staring at
The ceiling ~ as I begin the long
And painful journey that is
Now my life ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

Born in a small, Illinois log cabin . . . No, that won’t work. The pampered only child of incredibly wealthy parents . . . No, that won’t fly either. Raised by French nuns after her aristocratic parents were beheaded . . . No, that’s been done! Got it: An East Coast transplant to the Pacific Northwest, this notoriously late bloomer began her new life with a new career as a writer and blogger. She has taken to both the new location and the career move like a duck to water. Writing is a new adventure, and our intrepid risk-taker is diving in, feeling right at home and making new friends. Reached for comment, she replied, “Okay, I wrote my bio, now may I Please go out and play?” We expect great, or perhaps merely more coherent, things from this writer. (Okay, that’s a wrap. What a wacko!)

4 thoughts on “Sea Change

  1. Absolutely heartbreaking…. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Then my work is done. It made me sad, too. I can see her lying there, staring at the ceiling. 😦

    Like

  3. The heartache in this is palpable, Melody. How many of us have lived this scene which you captured so beautifully. To speak of it to a partner is futile. Many of us lie there, looking at the ceiling fan and trying to slow the tempo of our hearts.
    What a heart-breaking poem but oh so real. Kudos to you for finding those feelings in just a quick vignette!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A friend of mine and I were recently talking after a chance encounter with her ex-husband, and afterward she confessed that she had almost reached out to straighten his collar, and as I was thinking of it later, the words just flowed. I keep on feeling as though I am telling the stories of actual people, they feel so real to me. Thank you for your kind comment.

      Like

Leave a comment