Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Everyone Has a Story

8 Comments

I’m riding the train ~
Listening unwillingly ~
To overheard slices of
Other people’s lives ~

Hearing a painful
Private conversation ~
Played out in the
Only time he can make
His collect phone call ~

I learn against my will ~
That ‘cause of him she’s
Out six thousand bucks ~
And her ten-year-old
Dog is dying ~

Her weeping breaks
My heart ~ and she
Will never know ~

My stop is next and
As I rise to leave ~
I touch her shoulder ~
Lean down to whisper ~
I will pray for your dog ~

She looks into my eyes
With her suffering own ~
And for that moment
She is my sister ~

Author: Melody J Haislip

Born in a small, Illinois log cabin . . . No, that won’t work. The pampered only child of incredibly wealthy parents . . . No, that won’t fly either. Raised by French nuns after her aristocratic parents were beheaded . . . No, that’s been done! Got it: An East Coast transplant to the Pacific Northwest, this notoriously late bloomer began her new life with a new career as a writer and blogger. She has taken to both the new location and the career move like a duck to water. Writing is a new adventure, and our intrepid risk-taker is diving in, feeling right at home and making new friends. Reached for comment, she replied, “Okay, I wrote my bio, now may I Please go out and play?” We expect great, or perhaps merely more coherent, things from this writer. (Okay, that’s a wrap. What a wacko!)

8 thoughts on “Everyone Has a Story

  1. Oh Melody, this poem is so you, kind, caring and empathetic. Your poetry matches your heart in it’s beauty. And in these strange times, kindness almost seems like a missing ingredient in our lives. You’ve given us reassurance. Thank you for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Cher, but surely anyone hearing what I heard would be moved, not to pity, but to want to offer some sort of comfort. Getting through this life can be a very lonely trip. I think she understood.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vicarious heartbreak.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marsha, that’s the perfect description. I don’t know how to guard my heart in situations like these.

    Like

Leave a comment