Pacificmelody's Blog

I've got the computer keys to the kingdom!

Murphy Strikes Again!

6 Comments

Things had been pretty quiet on the Murphy front lately. Nothing but the usual “gotcha” moments in the wee hours of the night, or the occasional  clammy, cold, foot-length hairball, waiting beside the bed in the morning.

When I tried to encourage him to do something “cute”, so I could write about it, he would give me one of his patronizing looks and then stare off nobly into the distance. So I was completely unprepared for his latest attack. Other people have computer viruses, I have Murphy. I’d been watching a film on Netflix and had put the keyboard down within Murphy’s reach, just for a moment, but he saw his chance and took it. He did one of his drop-and-roll maneuvers across the keyboard, at the same time grabbing the mouse in his razor-claw-tipped paws. As we struggled for possession of the mouse, he squirmed and rolled all over the keyboard. By the time I had wrested control back into my opposable-thumbed-hands, the damage was done.

I use my 32 inch, high def TV screen as my computer monitor, and when I looked at it, I saw that everything was now on its head. Apparently this affected the mouse as well, because the only way I could get it to work was to back up to the TV, bend from the waist and run the mouse up and down my leg to maneuver it. This position was difficult to maintain, since the blood started running to my head, and the mouse was working only at about half capacity.

Finally I gave up and went to bed, hoping when I booted up in the morning that the situation would have corrected itself. No such luck. I called everyone I knew and no one had even heard of this happening until my younger sister called Geek Squad and described what was going on. Miracle of miracles, they had the solution which she passed on to me. All it took was pressing CTRL + ALT + the down arrow, all at the same time. It took several tries, but at last the images on the screen returned to their normal position. I was even able to track down my bookmarks, which had mysteriously vanished.

Murphy and I are in counseling, and things are getting back to normal, but I’ve learned my lesson. No more encouraging my computer kitty to show off again! (That’s Murphy in the foreground, with brother Max behind him. )

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author: Melody J Haislip

Born in a small, Illinois log cabin . . . No, that won’t work. The pampered only child of incredibly wealthy parents . . . No, that won’t fly either. Raised by French nuns after her aristocratic parents were beheaded . . . No, that’s been done! Got it: An East Coast transplant to the Pacific Northwest, this notoriously late bloomer began her new life with a new career as a writer and blogger. She has taken to both the new location and the career move like a duck to water. Writing is a new adventure, and our intrepid risk-taker is diving in, feeling right at home and making new friends. Reached for comment, she replied, “Okay, I wrote my bio, now may I Please go out and play?” We expect great, or perhaps merely more coherent, things from this writer. (Okay, that’s a wrap. What a wacko!)

6 thoughts on “Murphy Strikes Again!

  1. Murphy needs a plastic computer toy of his own. Max just gets stuck in the closet. You need one of those strollers like Daisy the Curly Cat has, and take them for rides. They need to get out so they won’t act up. Good story. 😀

    Like

  2. I can only imagine trying to stuff either or both of my boyz into a stroller. You’ve got such a great sense of humor.

    Like

  3. You appear to have two cloned cats with laser eyes. I would watch them VERY carefully if I were you…

    Like

  4. Melody,
    I like your blog. Very nice and I enjoy your writing style.

    Regards,
    Mark

    Like

  5. My cat used to do funny things too. Have enjoyed reading your blog, and the “breakfast” post on 7th June looked scrummy.

    Like

  6. Interesting post 🙂 cat walk on a key board ( or should it be cat roll). Well written too,

    Like

Leave a comment